Nothing TOO Crazy :)

Good morning everyone. I hope you all had a pleasant weekend doing whatever it is you ended up doing! My weekend was nothing too exciting but was still fun in itself. First, let me bring everyone up to speed.

I finished out last week with a mock presentation of my Hispanic Outreach project to several people in the MarCom Department. I ran through everything (that I have thus far on my project) just like I will at the end of the summer. I got LOTS of good, positive, and extremely helpful feedback but everyone said they loved the work I’ve done and think this is going to be a major project that could potentially take off and become something much larger ūüôā All in all, I ended last week on a high note and was ready for a weekend of excitement.

Earlier last week, I had been constructing a “Celebrity Find List” filled with multiple celebrities that I am major fans of/would love to run in to, and made a rough “map” of where everyone lived (along with a couple famous stores and restaurants) and planned to embark by mid-morning on Saturday. My list consisted of people from Steve Martin,¬† Dustin Hoffman, Bruce Willis, and Tom Cruise to Daniel Radcliffe, Alan Rickman, Denzel Washington, and Anne Hathaway. I had PLENTY more people on my list but there were several that either lived in the same building or very close by to others. My list took¬†me from one side of Central Park to the other, to Greenwich Village,¬†and back to Brooklyn. While it was fun exploring and seeing where these¬†celebrities lived, it was rather¬†sad when not a single place turned up any sort of results¬†and to no avail….I saw nobody. However, I will not doubt my luck in weeks past and feel¬†that before I leave, I will have at least ONE more celebrity encounter.¬†The heat on Saturday got¬†to be pretty atrocious (at¬†least I thought so) and so I returned to my apartment in Brooklyn by early afternoon and hung out with my roommate the remainder of the day. We went to Shake Shack for supper (as he had not eaten there yet and I am always boasting them up regarding their food). Afterwards, we decided we¬†would go¬†explore¬†Brooklyn on the OPPOSITE side of the bridge, as¬†neither of us had ever meandered beyond the bridge on our side.

We walked block after block just exploring and gawking at the different graffiti on walls and buildings, to the Manhattan bridge (which allowed for some pretty neat pictures; including this one)

manhattan bridge 2

Finally, we reached a point where we decided to start heading back but stumbled upon a GORGEOUS shoreline sitting area; almost like someone should’ve started a bonfire and cooked s’mores. This place also allowed for some perfect pictures, including these…)

manhattan bridge manhattan bridge 3

Daniel and I sat here for probably close to an hour and a half. We talked, people watched, and enjoyed the breeze off the water as it crashed onto the rocks in front of us. When we were totally satisfied with the view, we headed back to our apartment and watched FRIENDS on Netflix (I got him hooked….its contagious, trust me). Daniel went out with some of his other friends for the night and so I was already getting tired and I spent the remainder of my time awake watching Netflix again before finally conking out.

Before getting in to Sunday, let me say that I have been battling an on-going headache since Friday evening and it has yet to subside. So when I woke Sunday morning, my head was throbbing. I tried going back to sleep a couple times and it helped a little, but I was still not feeling the greatest. I remained in my bed the majority of the day and continually downed glasses of water, ate fruit, and even bought a Gatorade to try and help with possible dehydration. All in all, my Sunday was extremely lazy and uneventful because of this nagging headache.

It is now Monday morning and I am continuing my work on my Hispanic Outreach case, as well as assisting in several other projects with some of the MarCom team. I am also ecstatic to say that I was asked (last week) to give my story to be featured by one of JDRF’s major donors. I wrote the article and gave my story, as well as provided several pictures and my supervisors loved it. I am excited to see how it turns out¬†in final form and will await the reveal for hopefully not much longer. Overall, this week doesn’t look too busy YET but¬†I will have to wait and see how things pan out.

Anyways, I hope you all have a wonderful week and thanks for reading!

Until next time,

– The T1D in NYC

Leave a Reply

